The Delightful Dutch Dish

How one can cook oneself back into local reality

Local salad June 20, 2010

Filed under: cooking,salad,vegetable — orangepumpkin @ 17:49

Right now I’m eating a lovely salad that is by far the most local salad I’ve eaten in a loooooooooong while. Well, last Friday was more local. I’ve been visiting my parents this weekend (a Dutch custom, I think, visiting one’s parents as often as one can, until you produce grandchildren). And my parents have a vegetable garden. Which is way out! I’ve reported about the local produce coming from it. The few radishes, the turnip greens etc. So far we’ve only been able to have accents from the garden in our meals. Well, since the last time I visited, which was two weeks ago, things have been going up, up, up. And when I arrived Friday, my mother had made this huge bowl of salad. It didn’t look anything out of the ordinary, but she was beaming with pride: “It’s all from the garden!” she said. Well, not all of it was from the garden, we don’t have cucumbers and tomatoes, but other than that (and a few spices) it was all from the garden. Home grown salad, at your service!

When I was about to leave, my mother said that I could have some veggies from the garden. So we picked two cute and tiny red beets, a small onion and a lot of greens (rucola, turnip greens, mustard greens, chives, parsley, lettuce, radishes and celery). Only small amounts of all these things, but combined it was enough for a bowl of salad. All I had to add was a few drops of olive oil, a little salt and pepper, different seeds (pumpkin, sunflower & pine), a little cheese and balsamic vinegar. And I have a lovely salad. Despite the large amount of Brassicacae things in there, it’s not too spicy. It’s just lovely. I saved the red beets for tomorrow, I just used the leaves for the salad.

It’s very local, since it was grown in my parents’ garden. The only thing is that I took it with me back home. Which is about 50km. The good news is, I used public transport. So I’m considering this super local!

 

Leave a Reply

